House History

A Brief History of the Pansy’s Parlor House

THOMAS GOW and his wife, Mary were prominent Golden pioneers. They raised five children in this comfortable home.

BUFFALO BILL (William Cody) was a friend and visitor to Thomas Gow’s house, and allowed Gow’s young daughter, Jessie, to ride his horse.

JAMES GOW, architect ot Golden’s unique, turreted Armory Building & several other historical sites, lived here. He hauled 3300 wagon loads of rock, making the Armory the U.S.’s largest cobblestone building.

ALICE GOW, owner at the turn of the century, was an artist, and a career woman, ahead of her time. She was a map illustrator for the U.S. Government, and author of “Pictorial Toasts Reminiscent of the Gay 90’s”.

PANSY HOOK, a well known and revered Golden resident, and curator of the Golden Pioneer Museum for 28 years, was the last of five generations of Gow-Hooks to reside in the house until the 1980’s

BuffaloBillPortrait
Buffalo Bill
armorysm
Armory and Post Office (1914) James Gow – Architect

pix28sm
Mary Gow – Pioneer Mother
pix29sm
Mayme Gow-Parshall (Pansy’s Mother)

pix30sm
Jesse & Mayme Gow (Sisters)
pix31sm
Pansy as a child, with “Aunt Alice” Gow

pix32sm
Pansy in 1920s “flapper dress”
pix33sm
Pansy

pix43sm
The house “NOW”
pix36sm
The house “THEN”
pix37sm
Pansy’s childhood dollhouse… hand-carved furniture by ‘Uncle John’ Gow.